The Last Train !!

Standard

Right now as the evening is turning into night and people are returning from their offices, mothers are thinking about what to prepare for dinner, kids are returning home from the park and some cool souls are sipping coffee doing nothing, I am travelling. I boarded the train at 2 in the afternoon and I will reach home at 12 midnight. As soon as a I left Delhi, it started raining. Yes, the rain I was waiting for so desperately after my encounter with it in Hauz Khas Village admist all the humidity in Gurgaon and the terrible heat in Delhi.

After coming to Delhi for three consecutive internships, I have realized that I like this city more than any city I have visited in this country. Earlier, I used to think the same about Mumbai, but then the public conveyance there is a drawback and also I have spent only one month as compared to the three months in Delhi. So yes I am not hesitant to say that I love Delhi.

The public conveyance of the city is far far better than any other cities I have ever been to. There are lots and lots of places to go to. And the best part is that you won’t only find good pubs or restaurants in Delhi, if you are a lover of art and music then there are so many places that might interest you, if you are a history lover, then there are scores of historic monuments and places to go to. Delhi for me is the perfect combination of a fast paced city with all the colors of history and art still preserved.

Many people do not approve of the city. Calling it unsafe and that it has turned out to be one of the most scary places for a woman to live in. I do not agree. I do not agree that the city has anything to do with the crimes that happen here. I definitely agree that the crimes that happen here or anywhere are related to the people (citizens) of this country, And a woman will find the same lot molesting, abusing shamelessly on the roads, trying to touch you at inappropriate places etc etc anywhere very easily in any (read: every) part of the nation. As if blaming the government and the western culture was not enough, we have started blaming the whole city.

This is the last internship of my 5 year B.A. LL (Hons.) course (read : hopefully). The next time I would only need to intern in case I do not get placed. As, I am quite positive about getting placed *rolling eyes*, I wish and pray I once get to live and work in Delhi.

For this city has quenched my thirst for food like no other place. You get yummy and spicy momos at such affordable prices. The mouth watering chaats or the cold coffee at Sarojini’sΒ chotuΒ juice shops. You go to Delhi Haat and the options available to satisfy you will make your mind whirl. Keventer’s delicious milkshakes or Costa’s Veg Pesto Panini Sandwich. The Rajma Chawal of this small outlet called Sai Bhoj in Uday park and the alloo, paneer and pyaz paranthas they offered were directly sent from heaven. The awesome flavored yoghurt of mother dairy or the paneer roll of Khan Chacha. Also, how can I forget the corn and spinach sandwich of Midnight Munchies at 2 in the morning or the authentic south indian food at Naveydyam. The coolest mango kulfi at Hauz Khas Village and the most high-end chic food joints leave you wanting for more and more. The Shopping sprees make the city all the more worthy of falling in love with it.

I just hope I get to come back soon, for the city still remains unexplored and this in essence doesn’t turn out to be really my last train. πŸ™‚

<3

❀

 

6 thoughts on “The Last Train !!

  1. Ok. This is one of a kind of a post where someone is saying something good about Delhi. πŸ™‚
    Personally, I have never liked the place and I was born here.

    • The first time I came to Delhi, even I didn’t like it. But, then the city starts growing on you eventually. I started liking the city in my third and fourth visit. Maybe you are now too used to living there and also you have seen both the harsh and soft sides of the city, that you do not like it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

