Self high five :)

Standard

Yesterday, which was 8th of September, 2013, I got a confirmed offer from a law firm. Which means that I got placed. Which means that I am relieved, happy and satisfied.

To be honest, I was not at all expecting to get placed. I thought my interview went badly. I was so sure that I was waiting the result to be out not expecting a miracle, but just to confirm that I am not selected and go to sleep. But then, the anxiety and helplessness was killing me. I couldn’t call Rash because he was in the middle of an exam. I couldn’t talk to my parents because I didn’t tell them about the interview. I didn’t want to tell my sister for the reason of breaking down in front of her. So, I went and talked to a friend who also sat for the same interview. She was anxious and scared too. We talked for 45 minutes. And it was everything not related to placements and that particular interview. And it was good. It was like temporarily taking the burden off our heads.

Then at the designated time, she checked her email. There was no new mail in the inbox. We both were waiting looking helplessly at each other and then another of my friend who also happened to sit for the same interview called me. I panicked, received the call and she said, “Madam, kaha ho? Ho gaya hai aapka.” And I asked her who else got through and she said it was the friend in whose room I was sitting, it was she herself and another one of my good friends and me. I disconnected the call, gave the friend in front of me a big bear hug, shouted at the top of my voice and hugged again. For the next 10 minutes, I did nothing but hugging every person I met, on the way back to my room. I was exhilarated, still am.

After all the surprise unfolded, I started calling people one by one. Momsy, Popsy, Gappa, Rash (his cell phone was out of reach), Badepapa, Mama-Mami and Pink. After two hours of continously trying to make a call, Rash’s phone rang. He was still in Metro, so the line was weak. I asked him how his paper went, where he is blah blah. Then, he asked me “result aa gaya?” I said “ha.” He said, “Kya hua?” I said, “Lag gayi.” And I know the surprise, the happiness and the joy that ran wild in his blood at that moment. πŸ™‚ Thank you for being there to listen to all my crying and ranting after the first interview. I know I don’t say this more often, but I am really grateful.

I wanted a job to happen as soon as possible, but never expected this wish to come true. I called Momsy, told her and regret that I couldn’t see her face glowing with that typical mom smile. I then called Popsy and he in his style said, “Waah badhiya” and then I called Gappa and told her. She got all happy and I imagined her with pride on her face. I still regret not breaking the news to the family in person. Bloody attendance !! 😦

So, after a whole lot of shouting, not believing, hugging and calling friends and family, I think the feeling has finally sunk in. Β And now I know, Happiness is bringing smile to the faces of those I love. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Self high five :)

  1. chipmunk

    Happy for you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ having job at hand before passing out is like a big burden has been taken out from the shoulders πŸ™‚ wishing you all luck and Hi5 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. I totally understand how it might have felt! You made me go back to my posts when I got placed 8 years ago πŸ˜€ Bliss!
    Congrats, enjoy the thrill. It is not hyped one bit πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

