Green Chick Peas Pulav and Tomato Soup :)

Standard

Now is the time for a majority of students to spend time at home for the winter vacations. I am spending a whole month at home, thanks to the job I got, I do not need to intern any more. How do I spend an entire one month? I decided I would again try my hand at cooking. So, today I made green chick peas pulav and tomato soup. Momsy kept on instructing me and did exactly what and how she asked me to. Here is how I went about it 🙂

Tomato Soup

steamed tomatoes

steamed tomatoes

People who are expert at cooking consider tomato soup as something which they can make even blind folded. But, it is the first ever soup I made and hence you will have to bear with the recipe. I washed the tomatoes and put them in a pressure cooker to be steamed. Next, I poured the steamed tomatoes in a bowl to cool them off. A thick (not very thick) paste of the steamed tomatoes was

Steamed tomatoes turned in a not so thick paste

Steamed tomatoes turned in a not so thick paste

prepared in a mixer, the paste was then put through a sieve. The paste was then transferred to a utensil on the gas stove adding salt. In a separate pan,  a teaspoonful of ghee, asafoetida and cumin were added and was mixed with the soup.

After boiling the mixture for a good five minutes, tomato soup was prepared.

Soup with salt and garam masala sprinkled over it.

Soup with salt and garam masala sprinkled over it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Green Chick Peas Pulav

Onions, Tomato, Green Chick peas, Rice, Coriander and green chillies

Onions, Tomato, Green Chick peas, Rice, Coriander and green chillies

I have also never made pulav on my own. I mean doing everything on my own.This time from cutting the vegetables to adding coriander in the end, I did everything. I beforehand cut onions, tomato, green chilli and coriander and kept them ready. I washed rice and kept it soaked in water for some 20 minutes. Next, I added oil, bay leaf, cloves and black pepper along with asafoetida to the pan.

Oil, asafoetida, bay leaves, black pepper, cloves and onion

Oil, asafoetida, bay leaves, black pepper, cloves and onion

After a minute or two, I added onions and green chillies to the pan. After the onions turned a little pink, green chick peas were added. Again, after 5-8 minutes, I added the rice to the pan. Momsy asked me

After adding green chick peas

After adding green chick peas

to mix everything slowly as mixing roughly will break the rice. She asked me to mix everything till I can smell the fragrance of rice, green peas and other stuff included.

When I could, Momsy asked me to add red chilli powder, turmeric powder and garam masala.

After adding rice

After adding rice

This mixture was transferred to the pressure cooker and water was added.

Adding red chilli powder and turmeric powder

Adding red chilli powder and turmeric powder

 

 

 

 

After the rice was perfectly steamed, the pulav was prepared. Finely cut coriander was sprinkled and served with lemons. 🙂

rice and water in the pressure cooker for steaming

rice and water in the pressure cooker for steaming

Pulav and Toamto Soup ready to serve :)

Pulav and Tomato Soup ready to serve 🙂

I hope this zeal to cook and post here doesn’t die away before the vacations are over.

2 thoughts on “Green Chick Peas Pulav and Tomato Soup :)

Leave a Reply

