All about the new struggle(s)

Standard

So, on the 14th of June I received a call from Momsy (and she never calls during the day) that Popsy met with an accident while on his way to work and he has fractured his right leg. I thought and thanked god that it was only a fracture and nothing serious. I left for home the same day and reached around midnight. Dost came to pick me up, he dropped me to the hospital and there I saw my Popsy on the bed with a fractured leg and a critical but not so critical cut on his ankle.
We stayed in the hospital for four days and in the meanwhile Gappa and I consulted other doctors as to the requirement of inserting a rod in Popsy’s leg because the attending doctor in my hometown was of the opinion that the fracture does not need any rod business to be performed.

However, all the doctors with whom we consulted after looking at the X-ray opined that this fracture needs a rod. So we finally decided we will go for it and with Momsy and Popsy I came to Baroda for the surgery after talking to the orthopedic doctor over the phone. This orthopedic doctor also turned out to be really good looking also. I am writing this down just so I do not miss out on any kind of information.

So the surgery took place the very next day of our arrival and thereafter the only thing to be kept under observation was the cut on the ankle. It has been more than a month since the accident happened and the ankle cut has healed a lot. The fracture in the bone has also started healing and the only complication that remains is the plastic surgery that was performed on the fractured leg. My Popsy has a skin problem called eczema because of which the skin just above the fracture turned black and needed to be replaced by a flap. The eczema results in a slower blood supply in the veins and this is why the recovery is a little slow.

But I am sure he will be up on his feet in two month’s time. Playing with the kids in the building and doing all the chores normally. We are still in Baroda and are expecting to get discharged in the middle of August. I hope everything goes fine and we are back home as soon as possible without any worries.

2 thoughts on “All about the new struggle(s)

  1. Ouch man! Hope he gets better sooooon. My dad’s recovery took a very long time with the hop getting fractured and screws put there. 😦
    Dad has also developed eczema it happened in the California dry weather and general low immunity I think. It got alright as soon as he showed the doctors and he used some lotions.

    • Yes. He is recovering.
      I wonder about the role reversal though. We take care of them now, the way they used to when we were young. However, I guess they were far better at it than I am.
      I hope your dad is doing good now 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

