All about new struggle(s) – 2

Standard

I have been working with the law firm I got placed with via the campus placement cell in college. It has been two years since I joined this place and no doubt I have learned a lot here. However, I also know that I can do much more to improve my performance in office but somehow the motivation to do the same and the zeal to establish myself amongst my peers is lost somewhere. Mostly because I was recruited to work in the indirect tax practice of the firm and I knew nothing about it before joining the place. And the difficulty I faced in the first six months of joining to understand the subject and grab a hold of it shook my confidence and killed the eagerness to learn this new subject.

After two years and one promotion later, I am in a position where most of my peers have left the organization and are working in other law firms at of course a far better pay. Before the annual appraisal this year, I was also of the opinion that once the promotion list is declared, I will start pushing out my CV. However, I have certain doubts in my mind as to why should I switch? So, I just thought I will list down the pros and cons of this place and the pros and cons of shifting from here. This will help me decide if I Should stick for another year in this place or not.

Pros of working at the current place of work:
1. Lot to learn
2. Good and helpful people
3. Friends
4. Amazing principal partner
5. No deadline pressure
6. Decent pay
7. People think that it is the best place to be after GST is introduced.

Cons of working at the current place of work:
1. Much less remuneration as compared to other places (is not enough if I plan to buy a house)
2. No growth and learning in terms of acquiring knowledge in different areas of indirect tax
3. Stuck with the same team same boss
4. Uncooperative boss
5. Boss has confidence and leadership issues which percolate down to the junior most person in the team.
6. Come on time and leave only after 7, even if there is no work.

Pros of shifting to a new organization:
1. Good remuneration
2. Other firms have one team for indirect tax and every member gets to do everything. So no monotony in terms of learning and growth.
3. If there is no work people leave early and come late.
4. People are more chilled.
5. Most friends have already left.
6. I will learn to work efficiently as there are not many levels between the partner and the associate in tax teams of other organizations.
7. It is wrong to assume that people in other places are not knowledgeable enough to deal with GST.
8. Get rid of the current boss.

Cons of shifting to a new organization:
1. People may not be as good and as helpful as the people in the current place of work
2. It would be difficult to do work in the initial phase as I am not aware of other areas of indirect taxes except one.
3. Deadlines are sacred in other places

Well, so this is it I suppose. I have jotted down whatever I could think of. I will keep editing this post as and when I come across any other point. Technically, the number of pros for shifting suggests I should. But I will think some more and then decide.

4 thoughts on “All about new struggle(s) – 2

  1. I was in the similar dilemma last year.. what i concluded was that we should actually go ahead and check what are the other options we are getting. We might end up with an offer much better than current or vice versa.We often presume a lot of things which may or may not turn out to be true .Worked for me … Hope it helps 🙂

    • Hi angie2787, welcome to my space 🙂
      Yes I also think the same. It is just that I have become so comfortable where I am currently that there is a constant fear of the new and unknown. Hence all the pre-judging.

  2. I am sort of in the same boat. I have settled well here and have friends now. Sheesh.
    But I have started pushing my CV around to atleast send my sniffers out. Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

